Aubusson tapestry
  • The artisan who performs the task of tapestry weaving is known as a “lissier” in French. The expertise of the town of Aubusson is now recognised by UNESCO as “intangible cultural heritage of humanity”. Observe the traditional process of weaving  using a low-warp loom with this demonstration by Patrick Guillot.

  • Aubusson is well known for its tapestry workshops, witch were granted the status of royal manufactory in the 17th century. Discover the history of this artisanal activity and learn more about the organisation in the manufactories.

  • The history of Rue Saint Jean is closely linked to that of the Sallandrouze family, who commissioned the construction of several carpet factories and impressive employer lodgings. Discover two of the large manor houses, generally known as “châteaux”, located in this street alongside the most recent buildings of the Sallandrouze factories which are still in existence today.

  • The manor house known as “Château Saint Jean” is the former employer’s lodging of the Sallandrouze family. This video will introduce you to the detailed architecture of this building which boasts a sense of freedom and strong Art Nouveau influences, and lead you to discover the chapel of Saint Jean which can be found just a little further up the street.

  • This tapestry was commissioned by the State and woven in Aubusson using a Gérard Garouste design. Enter the tapestry through this video and discover the mythological tale of the young weaver, Arachne.

  • The church of Aubusson houses a number of works of art, specifically two large tapestries and a monumental painting. Identify the display and production conditions of these works with this audio commentary.

  • The quality of material and work of a colourist play a key role in the final result of a tapestry. Discover the artisanal process of wool dyeing, as it is still practised today at the Roger dyeing workshop in Aubusson.

  • Aubusson tapestry making experienced significant changes in the interwar period, at the instigation of the Ecole Nationale d’Art Décoratif d’Aubusson and a variety of artists. Follow the different stages of artisanal and artistic development, with Bruno Ythier, conservator at the Musée de la Tapisserie in Aubusson, as your guide.

  • The Cité Internationale de la Tapisserie et de l’Art Tissé was established in Aubusson to showcase the expertise recognised by UNESCO as “intangible cultural heritage of humanity”. This video will guide you in a more clear understanding of the role of the organisation, which features a museum and has a variety of missions, and allow you to discover the ambitious architectural project for the building where the organisation will be housed in the future.

  • To discover all the secrets of the Aubusson tapestry, visit the various museums of the city.

Aubusson tapestry

The ”Aubusson tapestry” tour will immerse you in the world of Aubusson expertise, its crafts, art works, history and extraordinary artistic development during the last century.

Other courses

Aubusson tapisserie
  • L’artisan qui réalise le tissage des tapisseries se nomme le lissier. Ce savoir-faire aubussonnais est aujourd’hui reconnu par l’UNESCO comme patrimoine immatériel de l’humanité. Observez le procédé traditionnel du tissage en basse lisse grâce à la démonstration de Patrick Guillot.

  • Aubusson doit sa renommée à la pratique artisanale de la tapisserie, pour laquelle elle a reçu l’appellation de Manufacture Royale au 17ème siècle. Découvrez l’histoire de cette activité et apprenez comment s’organisait le travail dans les manufactures.

  • L’histoire de la rue Saint Jean est étroitement liée à celle de la famille Sallandrouze qui y a fait bâtir plusieurs manufactures de tapis, ainsi que d’imposants logements patronaux. Découvrez au fil de la rue deux de ces grandes demeures communément appelées « châteaux » et les derniers bâtiments des manufactures Sallandrouze encore présents.

  • La grande demeure appelée « Château Saint Jean » est un ancien logement patronal de la famille Sallandrouze. Observez grâce à cette vidéo les détails d’architecture de cet édifice aux formes d’une grande liberté, fortement influencées par l’Art Nouveau et découvrez la chapelle Saint Jean qui se trouve un peu plus haut dans la rue.

  • Cette tapisserie est une commande d’Etat, tissée à Aubusson d’après une œuvre de Gérard Garouste. Entrez dans cette œuvre par le biais de cette vidéo et découvrez le récit mythologique d’Arachnée, la jeune tisserande.

  • L’église d’Aubusson abrite plusieurs œuvres, notamment deux grandes tapisseries et une peinture monumentale. Identifiez la représentation et les conditions de réalisation de ces œuvres grâce à ce commentaire audio.

  • La qualité des matériaux et le travail du teinturier joue un rôle très important dans le résultat final d’une tapisserie. Découvrez le procédé artisanal de teinture de la laine, tel qu’il est toujours pratiqué à Aubusson à la teinturerie Roger.

  • La tapisserie d’Aubusson a connu d’importants changements dans l’entre deux guerres, sous l’impulsion de l’Ecole Nationale d’Art Décoratif d’Aubusson et de différents artistes. Suivez avec Bruno Ythier, Conservateur du Musée de la tapisserie d’Aubusson, les différentes étapes de ces évolutions artisanales et artistiques.

  • La Cité Internationale de la tapisserie et de l’art tissé a été créée à Aubusson pour faire vivre ce savoir faire reconnu par l’UNESCO comme Patrimoine Immatériel de l’Humanité. Laissez-vous guider par cette vidéo pour mieux comprendre le rôle de la Cité, avec son musée et ses différentes missions, et découvrir le projet architectural ambitieux de son tout nouveau bâtiment.

  • Pour tout découvrir des secrets de la tapisserie à Aubusson, visitez les  différents musées de la ville.

Aubusson tapisserie

Immergez-vous dans l’univers de ce savoir-faire aubussonnais, ses métiers, ses gestes, ses œuvres, son histoire et sa formidable évolution artistique au siècle dernier.

Les autres parcours