Around the abbey
  • Meymac lies in an area mostly covered by forest, but that has not always been the case. The development of the countryside and how and why it has changed are explained in this first video.

  • Watch this video and explore how the town grew up around the abbey in medieval times, then beyond the walls, around the old Viscounts castle and the suburbs.

  • This tower is a remnant of the towns old fortifications and has served as a belfry, a free-standing spire, symbol of the towns independence from the local lord. Listen to its history.

  • This is a statue of Saint Léger, whose relics are preserved in the church at Meymac. Listen to the audio guide for a brief history of Saint Léger.

  • Classified as a Monument of Historical Importance, this 16th century covered marketplace has a beautifully carved wooden frame in the shape of an upturned boat’s hull. Listen to the audio guide to find out more.

  • The origins of Meymac date back to the foundation of its abbey. All that remains today of the old religious precinct are the abbey’s church and the adjoining monastic buildings. Watch this video to see the construction and its history.

  • As you enter the church at Meymac you will notice the carved Romanesque capitals that warrant close inspection. Listen to the audio guide for tips on what to look out for.

  • Four of the church’s stained glass windows were created by Limousin master glass painter Francis Chigot (1860-1960) Listen to the next part of the audio guide to find out about their symbolism.

  • This organ possesses a remarkable acoustic quality specifically designed for baroque music. Its casing was inspired by various 17th century instruments. Listen to the audio guide to find out how the organ was built, and to hear an excerpt from a recording of the organ…

  • This former Deputy for the Popular Front party was very heavily engaged in Meymac life between 1913 and 1973. He was active in the development of farming and forestry, archaeological digs and he collected objects of ethnographic interest.
    The collections he amassed over the course of his life are on display in the museum that bears his name.

  • This is the story of local man, Jean Gaye-Bordas, who developed a very unusual business in Meymac in the 19th century, all based around a geographical fib! !

  • Explore the heritage of the buildings which sprang up in the late 19th and early 20th centuries due to the economic rise of the Meymac wine merchants, who grew rich following the example of Jean Gaye-Bordas.

  • It is extraordinary to have a centre for contemporary arts in the midst of such a rural setting. In this interview the centre’s founder, and current Director, Caroline Bissière, explains how the renowned centre works and what it hopes to achieve in the contemporary art world.

Around the abbey

Along this multimedia trial you can explore the cultural heritage of Meymac, and discover, through videos and audio commentary, the abbey and its history, agricultural heritage and also the unusual people whose actions left their mark on the area.

Other courses

Autour de l'abbaye
  • Meymac est situé dans une zone majoritairement forestière, mais cela n’a pas toujours été le cas. L’évolution de ce paysage et les causes de ces changements vous sont expliqués dans cette première vidéo du parcours.

  • Découvrez à travers cette vidéo comment la ville s’est développée à l’époque médiévale autour de l’abbaye, puis au-delà de l’enceinte dans le quartier de l’ancien château des Vicomtes et les faubourgs.

  • Cette tour, héritée des fortifications de la ville, a servi de beffroi, le clocher laïque symbole de l’indépendance de la ville vis-à-vis du seigneur. Ecoutez son histoire.

  • Cette statue représente Saint Léger, dont les reliques sont conservées dans l’église de Meymac. Cet audioguide vous raconte brièvement son histoire.

  • Inscrite Monument Historique, cette halle du 16e siècle possède une très belle charpente en coque de bateau renversée. Pour en savoir plus, écoutez cette séquence audio.

  • L’origine de Meymac est liée à la fondation de son abbaye. De cet ancien ensemble religieux subsistent aujourd’hui l’église abbatiale et les bâtiments conventuels qui la jouxtent. Cette vidéo vous présente le bâti et son histoire.

  • En entrant dans l’église de Meymac, vous remarquerez des chapiteaux romans sculptés qui méritent une observation attentive. Cet audioguide vous en livre quelques clés de lecture.

  • Parmi les vitraux de l’église, 4 sont une création du maître verrier limousin Francis Chigot (1860-1960). Découvrez leur symbolique en écoutant le commentaire de cette étape.

  • Cet orgue, à l’acoustique remarquable particulièrement adaptée à la musique baroque, s’inspire pour son buffet d’instruments du 17e siècle. Après quelques explications sur sa réalisation, écoutez un extrait d’enregistrement…

  • Cet ancien député du Front Populaire a mené à Meymac une existence très engagée de 1913 à 1973, entre développement agricole et forestier, fouilles archéologiques et collectage d’objets ethnographiques.
    Le musée qui porte son nom présente les collections constituées au cours de sa vie.

  • Voici l’histoire peu ordinaire d’un enfant du pays, Jean Gaye-Bordas, qui a développé une activité commerciale insolite à Meymac au 19ème siècle, sur la base d’un petit mensonge géographique !

  • Découvrez le patrimoine bâti qu’a généré à la fin du 19e et au début du 20e siècle l’essor économique des marchands de vin de Meymac, qui se sont enrichis en suivant l’exemple de Jean Gaye-Bordas.

  • La présence d’un Centre d’Art Contemporain en milieu rural est assez insolite. La Directrice et fondatrice de ce centre, Caroline Bissière, nous présente à travers cette interview les objectifs et actions de ce lieu culturel très reconnu dans le milieu de l’art contemporain.

Autour de l’abbaye

Ce parcours multimédia vous accompagne à la découverte du patrimoine de Meymac, pour découvrir, à travers des vidéos et des commentaires audios, l’abbaye et son histoire, le patrimoine paysager, mais aussi des personnages au parcours atypique qui ont marqué le territoire par leur action.

____________________________________________________________________________


Téléchargez l’application mobile, disponible gratuitement sur Google Play et Apple Store.

image teaser


Donnez-nous votre avis pour nous aider à améliorer ce site internet en remplissant le questionnaire en ligne.

Les autres parcours