Stud farm and castle tour
  • This is where the story begins ! This audio guide tells you how a local family of lords had this castle built in the early 16th century, before being granted the « Marquis de Pompadour” title, which King Louis XV then gave to his mistress, Jeanne-Antoinette Poisson.

  • This sequence traces through the history of Pompadour’s stud farm, from its foundation by King Louis XV, its golden age in the 19th century and the invention of the Anglo-Arabian horse breed, until nowadays. The farm is still an important venue for equestrian events.

  • In the middle of the 16th century, the castle of Pompadour was endowed with an important defense system, to protect it from attacks in the religious war context. Here, the major points of this fortified ensemble are explained. 

  • The castle of Pompadour was built around 1500. It was a reflection of its owners’ great power and sophisticated taste. Unfortunately, its finest parts were demolished. Discover what the castle used to look like thanks to this video, its old maps and computer generated images.

  • The south wing is the only part of the castle that subsists today. It is presented in this video, with its covered pathway, its front entrance « châtelet » (small castle), its two circular towers and its indoors.

  • Let’s take a moment to evoke the parts of the castle which no longer exist: the north wing and the west gallery. Both were sophisticatedly decorated with limestone sculptures. You’ll be able to see what these parts of the castle looked like thanks to this video’s computer generated images.

  • This audioguide and slideshow explain the architecture of the castle’s splendid arched stables, as well as how the interior was organized. The audioguide also mentions how skylights and small towers were added on, in the 19th century.

  • Pompadour stud farm has kept several horse carriages, some of which are still on display. We interviewed Heritage curator Jean Louis Libourel, who is also a carriage and harness specialist, to learn how they work.

  • The castle’s enclosed gardens are located down below the low wall. They a wonderful place to enjoy a stroll. Have a glimpse at what they were like and how they evolved over the years.

  • Nowadays, Limousin is famous for its beef. But since the Renaissance, it has mainly been renowned for its horse breeding. This video describes the remarkable Limousin breed of horses, which no longer exists, and the Anglo-Arabian breed, which originated in Limousin.

  • Here, we tell you all about the blacksmith’s trade and discuss horse shoes.

  • The large Puy Marmont area was the castle’s vegetable garden. In the 19th century, it was transformed by the National Stud Farm to become: stables, a riding school, a forge and an honorary pavilion. Here we present the site and its evolution.

  • The honorary pavilion hosts a saddlery where the stud farm’s most remarkable harnesses are on display. There is also a saddler’s workshop where damaged leather parts are repaired and new ones are made. Bernard Clot, the stud farm’s assistant manager, takes us to visit the honorary saddlery, and Stéphane Poisot, the farm’s saddler, tells us all about his trade and skills.

Stud farm and castle tour

This multimedia tour takes you to discover the castle of Pompadour during its golden age, back in the 16th century, thanks to computer generated images. You’ll also learn about Pompadour’s heritage and the National Stud Farm’s savoir-faire.

Other courses

Parcours château et haras
  • Commençons par le début de l’histoire ! Ce commentaire audio vous raconte comment une famille de seigneurs locaux a fait bâtir ce château au début du 16ème siècle, avant d’obtenir le titre de Marquis de Pompadour que le roi Louis XV accordera ensuite à sa favorite Jeanne-Antoinette Poisson.

  • Cette séquence retrace en vidéo l’histoire du haras de Pompadour, de sa fondation par le roi Louis XV à son apogée au 19ème siècle, avec l’invention de la race anglo-arabe, jusqu’à nos jours où il demeure un haut lieu de compétition.

  • Bâti vers 1500, le château de Pompadour reflétait la puissance et le goût raffiné de ses propriétaires. Les parties les plus raffinées ont malheureusement été démolies. Découvrez dans cette vidéo à quoi il pouvait ressembler, grâce à des plans anciens et à des images de synthèse.

  • L’aile sud, seule partie encore existante du château, vous est présentée dans cette vidéo, avec son chemin de ronde, son châtelet d’entrée, ses deux tours circulaires et ses intérieurs.

  • Ce commentaire audio, accompagné de son diaporama, vous explique l’architecture du superbe bâtiment des écuries voûtées du château, son organisation intérieure et les ajouts de lucarnes et de tourelles au 19ème siècle.

  • Le haras de Pompadour a conservé plusieurs modèles de voitures hippomobiles dont certaines encore utilisées pour des démonstrations. Pour vous expliquer leur fonctionnement, nous avons interviewé Jean Louis Libourel, Conservateur du patrimoine spécialiste des attelages.

  • En contrebas du muret se trouvaient les jardins du château, espace clos d’agrément et de promenade. Regardez à quoi ils pouvaient ressembler et comment ils ont évolué dans le temps.

  • Aujourd’hui connu pour sa célèbre race bovine, le Limousin était avant tout réputé depuis la Renaissance pour l’élevage de chevaux. Découvrez en vidéo l’histoire de la remarquable race de chevaux limousins aujourd’hui disparue et de l’anglo-arabe, né à Pompadour.

  • Que se passe-t-il dans la forge ? Nous vous expliquons ici comment travaille le maréchal ferrant pour ferrer les pieds des chevaux.

  • Au milieu du 16ème siècle, le château de Pompadour a été doté d’un important dispositif défensif pour se protéger des attaques dans le contexte des guerres de religion. Nous vous présentons ici les points majeurs de cet ensemble fortifié.

  • Ancien potager du château, le grand espace du Puy Marmont a été transformé au fil du 19ème siècle par le Haras National pour accueillir plusieurs écuries, un manège, une forge et un pavillon d’honneur. Cette séquence vous présente le site et son évolution.

  • Le pavillon d’honneur abrite une sellerie où sont exposées les plus belles pièces de harnais du haras, ainsi que l’atelier du bourrelier, couturier du cuir qui répare les pièces abimées ou en fabrique de nouvelles. Bernard Clot, Directeur adjoint du haras, nous fait visiter la sellerie d’honneur et Stéphane Poisot, bourrelier du haras, nous présente son savoir-faire.

Parcours château et haras

Ce parcours multimédia vous accompagne à la découverte du château de Pompadour au temps de sa splendeur, à la fin du 16ème siècle, grâce à des restitutions en images de synthèse, et vous dévoile aussi le patrimoine et les savoir-faire du Haras National.

____________________________________________________________________________


Téléchargez l’application mobile, disponible gratuitement sur Google Play et Apple Store.

image teaser



Donnez-nous votre avis pour nous aider à améliorer ce site internet en remplissant le
questionnaire en ligne.


Les autres parcours