Time travel
  • This video clip allows you to place Montignac in the geographical and landscape context of the Vézère Valley, which was formed by the erosion of limestone plateaus. It also explores the interaction between humans and their environment.

  • In this interview, Geneviève Pinçon, director of the National Centre for Prehistory, describes the exceptional richness of the Vézère Valley’s prehistoric sites and decorated caves, which are registered as UNESCO World Heritage sites.

  • With this audio guide, you can spend a few minutes in this distinctive 18th-century manor house, which is now listed as a Historical Monument.

  • This 19th-century building replaced the ancient church of the bourg castral, the western doorway of which can still be seen. This audio guide will also tell you about the third church located outside the village.

  • Here, you can delve into the medieval origins of Montignac castle and its lively history during the Hundred Years’ War, until it was transferred to the Albret family in the 15th century.

  • Pick up the history of the castle right from where we left off. With a video, you can discover the various transformations that gave the castle its current appearance, from construction linked to the French Wars of Religion to more recent additions.

  • This organ possesses a remarkable acoustic quality specifically designed for baroque music. Its casing was inspired by various 17th century instruments. Listen to the audio guide to find out how the organ was built, and to hear an excerpt from a recording of the organ…

  • To understand the construction of Montignac and the entire Vézère Valley, on a larger scale, this video deals with the different materials used here for the masonry and coverings of buildings.

  • In this video, discover the structure of the fortified medieval village (bourg castral) of Montignac that was under the protection of the castle and learn how its extension outside the wall made up the foundation for the current town on the two banks of the Vézère.

  • Montignac very soon stretched to the two banks of the Vézère river, thanks to its medieval bridge. After its destruction, there was a wait of almost 200 years before the current bridge was built in the 18th century and was capable of withstanding the river’s violent floods. This is the story being told in this series of images.

  • This a building that is entirely out of the ordinary in Montignac: a Palladian-style villa built right at the start of the 19th century. Listen to the story of this unusual structure.

  • You find yourself in front of two of the oldest buildings in Montignac: Saint Jean hospital and its chapel, which became a church before being deconsecrated. Discover these two buildings in this audio series.

  • Now we stop for a few moments for the story of the former convent established in the 14th century for the Order of Saint Clare.

  • Naturally, we could not end this tour of Montignac without talking about Lascaux. In this video interview, Thierry Félix, the first guide at Lascaux II, tells us the story of the discovery of the most famous decorated cave in the world in this little village of Périgord.

  • In this clip, we discover how the preservation of the original cave was endangered and what solutions were found to give the public the opportunity to once again see this exceptional collection of painted and engraved works by our homo sapiens ancestors.

Time travel

This multimedia experience guides you through the cultural heritage of Montignac-sur-Vézère using videos and audio commentary on the valley’s landscape, the castle and village of Montignac, the ancient Gallo-Roman settlement that was located at the entrance to the village and even the story of the discovery of the Lascaux Cave.

Other courses

Voyage dans le temps
  • Cette séquence vidéo vous permet de situer Montignac dans son contexte géographique et paysager, la Vallée de la Vézère, constituée par l’érosion des plateaux calcaires. Elle aborde également l’interaction de l’Homme avec cet environnement.

  • Dans cette interview, Geneviève Pinçon, Directrice du Centre national de la préhistoire, évoque l’exceptionnelle richesse des sites préhistoriques et grottes ornées de la Vallée de la Vézère, inscrits sur la liste du Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO.

  • Attardez-vous quelques instants, grâce à cet audioguide, sur cet hôtel particulier du 18ème siècle, inscrit à l’inventaire des Monuments Historiques.

  • Cet édifice du 19ème siècle a remplacé l’ancienne église du bourg castral, dont vous pouvez encore observer le portail occidental. Cet audioguide vous parle également d’une troisième église, située hors du bourg.

  • Vous découvrez ici l’origine médiévale du château de Montignac et son histoire mouvementée pendant la guerre de Cent ans, jusqu’à ce qu’il soit transmis à la famille d’Albret au 15ème siècle.

  • Reprenons l’histoire du château là où nous l’avions laissée. C’est en vidéo que vous pourrez découvrir les différentes transformations qui lui ont donné son aspect actuel, des aménagements liés aux guerres de Religion aux ajouts plus récents.

  • A la sortie nord-est du bourg de Montignac se situent les vestiges, aujourd’hui enfouis, d’une dynamique agglomération gallo-romaine. Ce film vous en explique l’ampleur, en vous montrant des objets de fouilles et des restitutions en images de synthèse.

  • Pour comprendre le bâti de Montignac, et plus largement de toute la vallée de la Vézère, cette vidéo s’intéresse aux différents matériaux utilisés ici pour la maçonnerie et la couverture des constructions.

  • Découvrez à travers cette vidéo la structure du bourg médiéval fortifié de Montignac, placé sous la protection du château, et comment son extension à l’extérieur de l’enceinte a constitué la base de la ville actuelle, sur les deux rives de la Vézère

  • Montignac s’est très tôt étendu sur les deux rives de la Vézère grâce à son pont médiéval. Après sa destruction, il faut attendre presque 200 ans avant que soit bâti, au 18ème siècle, le pont actuel, capable de résister aux crues violentes de la rivière. C’est cette histoire qui est retracée dans cette séquence en images.

  • Voici un édifice tout à fait atypique à Montignac : une villa d’inspiration palladienne bâtie au tout début du 19ème siècle. Ecoutez l’histoire de cette construction peu ordinaire.

  • Vous vous trouvez devant deux des plus anciens bâtiments de Montignac : l’hôpital Saint Jean et sa chapelle, devenue église avant d’être désacralisée. Découvrez ces deux édifices dans cette séquence audio.

  • Arrêtons-nous à présent quelques instants sur l’histoire de cet ancien couvent fondé au 14ème siècle par l’ordre féminin des Clarisses.

  • Nous ne pouvons évidemment pas terminer ce parcours à Montignac sans parler de Lascaux. Dans cette interview vidéo, Thierry Félix, préhistorien, spécialiste de Lascaux, nous raconte l’histoire de la découverte, dans ce petit village du Périgord, de la grotte ornée la plus célèbre au monde.

  • On découvre dans cette séquence comment la conservation de la grotte originale a été mise en péril et quelles solutions ont été trouvées pour redonner au public la possibilité de voir cet ensemble exceptionnel d’œuvres peintes et gravées par nos ancêtres homo sapiens.

Voyage dans le temps

Ce parcours multimédia vous accompagne pour découvrir le patrimoine de Montignac-sur-Vézère à travers des vidéos et des commentaires audios sur le paysage de la vallée, le château et le bourg de Montignac, l’ancienne agglomération gallo-romaine qui se situait à l’entrée du village, ou encore l’histoire de la découverte de la grotte de Lascaux.

____________________________________________________________________________


Téléchargez l’application mobile gratuite, sur Google Play et Apple Store.



Donnez-nous votre avis pour nous aider à améliorer ce site internet en remplissant le questionnaire en ligne.

Les autres parcours